News Posted in News.

Election nominations for Bognor Regis Town Council

Voters in Bognor Regis have the choice of more than 30 candidates at next month’s elections.


The town council’s five wards have a total of 34 hopefuls seeking votes on May 2. They will not include Damien Enticott, whose anti-semitic posts on social media led to him being sanctioned by the town council at its last meeting.


At present, the council of 16 members is split politically with six Independents, five Liberal Democrats, four Conservatives and one Labour councillor.


This is a full list of the candidates:


Hatherleigh (1 seat)
Adam Cunard (I),
Simon McDougall (L).


Hotham (4 seats)
John Barrett (LD),
Steve Goodheart (I),
David Meagher (L),
Roger Nash (L),
Stephen Reynolds (C),
Wayne Smith (LD),
Jerry Tomlinson (L),
Jeanette Warr (LD),
Michelle White (L).


Marine (4 seats)
Nigel Alner (L),
Jim Brooks (I),
Claire Needs (LD),
Heather Robbins (L),
Alison Sharples (L),
Matt Stanley (LD).


Orchard (4 seats)
Lynne Armstrong (L),
Kenton Batley (LD),
Chris Collins (LD),
Jan Cosgrove (L),
David Darling (C),
Alan Foster (L),
Henry Jones (LD),
Kelly Morris (L),
Samantha Staniforth (LD),
Phil Woodall (I).


Pevensey (3 seats)
Sandra Daniells (I),
Pat Dillon (C),
Inna Erskine (LD),
John Erskine (LD),
Ian Manion (L),
Helen Scutt (L),
Linda Sheppard (L).


Residents in Middleton-on-Sea and an area of Aldwick can also elect their parish councillors on May 2.


The candidates are:


Aldwick West (5 seats)
John Bass (I),
Carol Birch (G),
Stella Coppard (I), Gillian Edom (I),
Ian Manion (no party given),
Alan Smith (no party given).
Middleton-on-Sea (12 seats)
Martin Burrell (no party),
Terry Claxton (Middleton parish councillor since 2009),
Michael Davies (no party),
Paul Harris (no party),
Shirley Haywood (Independent voice for Middleton & Elmer),
Marese Hollands (no party),
Christine Johnson (parish councillor since 2012),
Graham Jones (I),
Sandra Lawrence (no party),
Robin Lush (retired business manager),
Colin Mansfield (I, retired air traffic controller),
Nicky Mills (no party),
Alan Newton (no party),
Alan Pendleton (no party),
Jacky Pendleton (no party),
Kevin Shephard (held parish councillor post since 2015),
Colin Williams, Paul Wotherspoon
(no party).


C = Conservative,
I = Independent,
L = Labour,
LD = Liberal Democrats.


All other parish council candidates in the Bognor Regis area have been elected unopposed.

Posted in News.